Sticky Kisses

He turned his little face up to me for a kiss.  My heart melted as our eyes met in one of those moments that are captured in your heart forever.  My 3 year old grandson, one of a set of twins, is a very active young man.  He is personable and active.  The other twin, Hunter is the compliant one.  But Tyler is the one who is the mastermind.  I see them in the corner talking “twinspeak” and I know that it is time to batten down the hatches because the twins are on the roll again.

And sure enough, a couple of minutes later, one of them will jump off a piece of furniture while the other one laughs and runs to the other room.  We know this, their mom and I.  You can’t help but chuckle though.  You try to look stern and displeased but inside your heart is laughing.

They were the babies the doctor said would never be.  My daughter and her husband were exploring adoption when I got the call.  “I don’t have the flu mom”, my daughter began, “I’m pregnant.”  A couple of days went by and she called me again.  “I’m in the emergency room, Mom.  Are you sitting down?“ I assured her I was.  “We’re having twins.”, she told me, trying to keep back the tears of happiness.

It has been a wild ride ever since.  But when they turn up their little, sometimes sticky faces for a kiss, I think how blessed I am to have them in my life.

twins

Leave a comment